PITT AWARD

The Annual Award for Innovation in Coal Conversion, also known as the Pitt Award, was founded by the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering of the University of Pittsburgh in 1983 through the support of the following companies: Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.; Consolidation Coal Company; Gulf Research and Development Company - Synthetic Fuels Division; and Westinghouse Electric Corporation.

Since 1992, the award has been fully funded by CONSOL Energy Inc. The purpose of this award is to honor an individual each year, which has made a recent and significant contribution to the new technologies, new procedures or new policies toward coal utilization.

PITT AWARD RECIPIENTS	
Krantz University of Colorado	

1907	William B. Kraniz, University of Colorado
1000	Sourmour P. Albert Electrical Dower Pesserab In

- Seymour B. Alpert, Electrical Power Research Institute 1988
- John P. Murtha, Congressman, U.S. Congress 1989
- 1990 Flynt Kennedy, Consolidation Coal Company
- 1991 Robert E. Lumpkin, Amoco Corporation

1007 William D

- Sun W. Chun, PETC, U.S. Department of Energy 1992
- 1993 James J. Markowsky, AEP Service Corporation
- Thomas F. Bechtel, METC, U.S. Department of Energy 1994
- 1995 Adel F. Sarofim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 1996 Donald M. Carlton, Radian International LLC
- David H. Pai, Foster Wheeler Development Corporation 1997
- 1998 Masakatsu Nomura, Osaka University, Japan
- 1999 Frank Derbyshire, CAER, University of Kentucky
- 2001 Terry Wall, University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia
- 2002 Rita Bajura, NETL, U.S. Department of Energy
- 2003 Francis Lau, Institute of Gas Technology
- Baoging Li. Chinese Academy of Sciences, China 2004
- 2005 Kouichi Miura, Kyoto University, Japan
- Charles H. Goodman, Southern Company 2006
- 2007 Ben Jager, Sasol Technology, South Africa
- 2008 Liang-Shi Fan, The Ohio State University
- 2009 Michael J. Mudd, The FutureGen Alliance
- 2010 Güven Önal, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
- 2011 Michael G. Morris, American Electric Power, Columbus, OH
- Richard L. Lawson, Energy, Environmental and Security Group, Ltd. 2012
- 2013 Ke Liu. Shenhua Research. China
- Ben Yamagata, Coal Utilization Research Council (CURC) 2014
- 2015 Rainer Reimert, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

The 2016 Recipient Johan van Dyk



Africary South Africa

Dr. Johan van Dyk is an internationally leading expert in Coal Chemistry and a renowned Coal Gasification specialist. His professional career was developed over almost two decades at Sasol Technology (South Africa). where his keen scientific knowledge and passion rocketed him into the highest ranks as a Technical Leader at Sasol Technology's R&D unit. In 1995, Johan was the Chief Scientist of Sasol Gasification R&D function and by the end of 2013, he was the "Technical Lead" for Sasol's Gasification R&D Coal Science. His leadership helped Sasol optimize its world class gasification systems. Johan has also been the technical lead for several Sasol's Coal-to-Liquid project evaluation studies. His outstanding background and international R&D track record have been the drive for successful commercialization of various gasification projects at Sasol, North Dakota, Vresova, assistance in coal source selection to Jindal Steel and Power (Angul Gasification Plant India), Coal India and Africary (the Theunissen UCG project in South Africa). Since September 2103, Johan has been the Technology Manager at Africary, where he is aggressively promoting the commercialization of the UCG mining process.

Johan has published over 90 papers, holds 8 patents and has been participating at different capacities in numerous organizations in South Africa, including: Technical Advisory Member to the Minister of Energy and Department of Energy: Member of the Coal Processing Society: and Board Member of the South African Underground Coal Gasification Association: Associate Professor at North-West University; Study leader at University of Free State, Stellenbosch University and North-West University. In addition, he is serving as an Advisory Board Member for Virthucon (Freiberg University Germany), and as the international vice chair for International Pittsburgh Coal Conference.

Johan holds BS in Chemistry/Computer Science and Honors BS in Chemistry from Potchefstroom University for CHE; MS (Eng.) from University of Witwatersrand (WITS); and PhD in Minerals Engineering from North-West University, Potchefstroom, South-Africa.

2016 Annual

PITT AWARD PROGRAM



University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering

Presented at the Awards Luncheon

Friday, August 12, 2016

Cape Town International Convention Center Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA



Thirty-Third Annual International Pittsburgh Coal Conference August 8 - 12, 2016 Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA