PITT AWARD

The Annual Award for Innovation in Coal Utilization, also known as the *Pitt Award*, was founded by the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh in 1983 through the support by Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.; Consolidation Coal Company; Gulf Research and Development Company - Synthetic Fuels Division; and Westinghouse Electric Corporation.

The purpose of this award is to honor an individual each year, who has made significant contributions to new technologies, new procedures or new policies toward efficient coal utilization. From 1992 through 2018, the award was fully funded by CONSOL Energy Inc. This year's award is supported by West Virginia University.

PITT AWARD RECIPIENTS	
1988	Seymour B. Alpert, Electrical Power Research Institute
1989	John P. Murtha, Congressman, U.S. Congress
1990	Flynt Kennedy, Consolidation Coal Company
1991	Robert E. Lumpkin, Amoco Corporation
1992	Sun W. Chun, PETC, U.S. Department of Energy
1993	James J. Markowsky, AEP Service Corporation
1994	Thomas F. Bechtel, METC, U.S. Department of Energy
1995	Adel F. Sarofim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1996	Donald M. Carlton, Radian International LLC
1997	David H. Pai, Foster Wheeler Development Corporation
1998	Masakatsu Nomura, Osaka University, Japan
1999	Frank Derbyshire, CAER, University of Kentucky
2001	Terry Wall, University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia
2002	Rita Bajura, NETL, U.S. Department of Energy
2003	Francis Lau, Institute of Gas Technology
2004	Baoqing Li, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
2005	Kouichi Miura, Kyoto University, Japan
2006	Charles H. Goodman, Southern Company
2007	Ben Jager, Sasol Technology, South Africa
2008	Liang-Shi Fan, The Ohio State University
2009	Michael J. Mudd, The FutureGen Alliance
2010	Güven Önal, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
2011	Michael G. Morris, American Electric Power, Columbus, OH
2012	Richard L. Lawson, Energy, Environmental and Security Group, Ltd.
2013	Ke Liu, Shenhua Research, China
2014	Ben Yamagata, Coal Utilization Research Council (CURC)
2015	Rainer Reimert, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
2016	Johan van Dyk, Africary, South Africa

2017

Robert H. Gentile, LTI

The 2019 Recipient

Professor

Yuemin ZHAO

CUMT





Dr. Yuemin Zhao is a Distinguished University Professor and the Director of the Academic Committee at China University of Mining and Technology (CUMT), which is one of the renowned comprehensive universities in China. It is always ranked as the top mining university in China and has a worldwide reputation in coal mining technology and research. In 2018, the QS World University Rankings by Subject placed CUMT's mineral and mining engineering the 19th in the world and the 1st in China.

Professor Zhao's research in the past few decades has been focusing on coal beneficiation and utilization. He made pioneering contributions to the efficient coal screening and dry coal separation technologies, with 12 national key scientific research projects, 13 United States/Japanese patents and more than 30 Chinese patents. He invented the highly efficient hyperstatic vibrating screen technology and developed the first hyperstatic structure vibrating screen in the world, which overcame the key technical difficulties of conventional vibrating screens, including high failure frequency, poor reliability, and low screening efficiency. He has also resolved the issues of in-depth screening of moist fine coal by introducing the innovative elastic screening technology, which greatly decreased the lower size limitation of steam coal screening.

Professor Zhao is the Director of the Key Laboratory of Coal Processing & Efficient Utilization (Ministry of Education, P.R. China). He has established the theory of dry coal beneficiation by gas-solid fluidization technology, invented the dry dense medium fluidized-bed separator and the large-scale FGX separator, developed the modular dry coal separation process system, constructed the first modular dry coal preparation plant in the world, which provides an efficient way for the coal beneficiation in areas of drought and water-deficient.

Professor Zhao has received several prestigious awards, including the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars (2001-2003), the Changjiang Distinguished Professor (2002-2004), and the State Science and Technology Prizes (1996, 2005, 2014 and 2018).

Professor Zhao holds a PhD. degree in Mineral Processing from China University of Mining and Technology. He serves as an editorial board member of the International Journal of Mining Science and Technology. He was also the Past Vice President of the China University of Mining and Technology.

2019 Annual



Thirty-Sixth Annual International Pittsburgh Coal Conference September 3 - 6, 2019 Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PITT AWARD PROGRAM



University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering

Presented at the Awards Luncheon

Friday, September 6, 2019

The Westin Convention Center Hotel Pittsburgh, PA, USA